Mawaddah

وَمِنْ آيَاتِهِ أَنْ خَلَقَ لَكُم مِّنْ أَنفُسِكُمْ أَزْوَاجًا لِّتَسْكُنُوا إِلَيْهَا وَجَعَلَ بَيْنَكُم مَّوَدَّةً وَرَحْمَةً إِنَّ فِي ذَلِكَ لَآيَاتٍ لِّقَوْمٍ يَتَفَكَّرُونَ

 

I’ve searched through my whole pile of words

But didn’t find any that, when they’ve

left my mouth

flown away free in the air

sound waves expanding ever further, ever weaker, into the universe,

ressemble at all this ‘mawaddah’.

It must come from beyond, from the ‘arsh, because

it doesn’t fit inside my body.

It makes me want to scream.

 

Some people say it’s just chemicals flowing through the brain

Mixing in just the right proportions, just the right places

But who, then, is the bartender?

 

Don’t tell me Jalaluddin isn’t on to something

Just tell me why it’s a lottery with such high stakes

Laisser un commentaire

