Drums

A wild wind blew in my
Wooden shutters with the cracked blue paint
The fig trees outside
Waved their arms back and forth
I closed my eyes
Breathed
A scent of smoky, burning wood
A vision of flames lighting up the night
When the Kikuyu dancer pulled me into the circle
A twinkle in his eye
And I the awkward stranger tried
To follow the
Swirl of colors in the dark and
The rhythm of the drums
Only now the drums are more rigid
Sauti na mtulivu
And I belong even less in the circle
Than I did that night
But the wild wind is as ecstatic to me
As it ever was

Laisser un commentaire

