Podium

What is my place in this big world
The immensity intimidates me
Quiets me.

Impresses me.

It’s not my place to speak
Just yet
Stop thinking others are this or that
. Stop thinking others
Just Stop

Qarna fi baytik softly
Befriend hard work and sweat
And all that is alone and silent
For who am I to speak to the world
, who am I to speak
who am I

I
have a podium
Crouch down
Feel the cold stone against your nose
Allahomma ighfirlana dhunubuna
Wa qina ‘adhaab an-naar
Over and over
Til your soul and dhikr become one

Speak only of
The book of God
Enjoin good
Forbid evil
For there are angels appointed over you
Never is a word said except
An observer is prepared to record
Are you not ashamed that your record
Be spread open only to find
There is nothing of the akhirah in it?

Laisser un commentaire

