Far

I carry my mother’s heart
Chained to my stomach
And my father’s
Chained to my chest
When I go far away from them
She feels it turning hers
He feels it tightening his
There are no words to describe
In any language
Their pain
Everyone wants to hold on to childhood –
you can.
Just look in your parents’ eyes,
it lives forever there
I look in the mirror
And see
Chain after chain after chain
Wound round our temples
They chafe us and leave
Tears, not blood
But I can’t come back
« My soul is from elsewhere
Of that I’m sure
And I intend to end up there »

Laisser un commentaire

