Reset

I find words
Frustratingly ugly
Awkwardly unsatisfying
Numbingly insufficient
I just want to capture
That elusive meeting
Between soul and body
That seems to disappear and reappear at will
A place so profound, yet nameless
The most profound things usually are
What do you call God, for example
I call him ‘Allah’
But the name draws sharp black lines all over the page
That few seem able to look past
A Berlin Wall in heavy-handed Sharpie
But He, too, is missing these days
When I stare into the box of myself
I find only an agonizingly silent boxing match
Iblis 100, Soul 0
I’ve gotten tired of looking
And just glance now and then
Waiting for the scoreboard to
Reset

Laisser un commentaire

